The Walk Series by Richard Paul Evans

Course Dates: 
June 25, July 2, 9, 16, 23, 2015
11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Bobbie Rockwell
Course Catalogs: 
2015 Summer

The Walk
series tells the story of a man who loses everything all at once: his wife, his business, his home. After considering suicide, he decides to walk across the country.  As we discuss the life lessons he learns along the way, we will compare them to our own life lessons. This course requires reading the five books of Richard Paul Evans’ Walk series in five weeks.  Because each session will build on the previous one, regular attendance is necessary.  The course will begin during the second week of the term to allow for time to begin the reading.  Required texts:  (all by Richard Paul Evans): The Walk, ISBN: 978-1-4516-2533-2.  Cost: $4.82.  Miles to Go, ISBN: 978-1-4391-9146-0. Cost: $2.92.  The Road to Grace, ISBN:978-1-4516-2818-0.   Cost: $6.48.  A Step of Faith, ISBN: 978-1-4516-2829-6.  Cost: $5.40.  Walking on Water, ISBN: 978-1-4516-2831-9.  Cost: $.01.  All are used books from Amazon.  There are many copies of these books available also through the Buncombe County library system for loan.         


Bobbie Rockwell ( has a background in education and has extensive training in shared inquiry techniques from the Great Books Foundation.  She specializes in literature discussion courses that focus on the examination of our collective life journey.